Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more!

Blue Iris Tools - Weather Overlay, Watchdog & more! 1.6.0

OICU2

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
317
Reaction score
96
Location
PA
If you mean pull forecast data from a weather.com city's official report, that's a no go for me and I am sure for others as we want the data from our own stations where the cameras and stations are located.
 

marklyn

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jun 13, 2015
Messages
274
Reaction score
53
Someone mentioned getting the data from weatherlink (Davis Instruments)... is there some documentation I find use to do that ?
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2016
Messages
991
Reaction score
658
Location
Colorado
I don't have a weather station, but if there was a low end model that could do temp, wind, humidity I'd consider putting one up just so Blue Iris had accurate and timely updates. WUnderground has been hit of miss with me, with certain "stations" going offline and having to switch to others.
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,813
Reaction score
2,204
Location
New York
It is nice having information from our own weather stations, but the best bet to get BIT's weather system working right away is to use a centralized weather system, like weather.com or wunderground. Something that can take the traffic, is global and reliable. I will however add options to use different weather stations afterward.
 

Ssayer

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
696
Reaction score
1,034
Location
SE Michigan USA
I don't have a weather station, but if there was a low end model that could do temp, wind, humidity I'd consider putting one up just so Blue Iris had accurate and timely updates. WUnderground has been hit of miss with me, with certain "stations" going offline and having to switch to others.
There is a program called, "Weather Display". The plus is that it will save info from a large number of possible PWS including some cheaper ones in a format that you can easily macro into BI. The negative is that it would be an added program always running on your computer.

It was what I used before Mike and BIT.
 

XativaDavid

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Oct 2, 2019
Messages
4
Reaction score
2
Location
Spain
I am thinking of using weather.com and scraping the page for the data. Been researching it and it seems like it should work, be stable and not require any API key or anything like that. I plan on diving into testing this weekend.

Anyone care to share a link to their town / city's current weather (particularly outside of the US)? Similar to this


Code:
https://weather.com/weather/today/l/10001
From a village in Spain: Barxeta, Valencia Province, Spain Weather Forecast and Conditions - The Weather Channel | Weather.com
But it doesn't tally with my Davis station's observations, located only 700 metres from the village.
 

Mike

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
2,813
Reaction score
2,204
Location
New York
Post some URL's to wunderground weather data for your PWS that are outside of the US.
 

pupsik22

n3wb
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
2
Location
Canada
There is a program called, "Weather Display". The plus is that it will save info from a large number of possible PWS including some cheaper ones in a format that you can easily macro into BI. The negative is that it would be an added program always running on your computer.

It was what I used before Mike and BIT.
Hi.
How would you macro it into BI. Any instructions would be appreciated.

Thank you
 

Ssayer

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 5, 2016
Messages
696
Reaction score
1,034
Location
SE Michigan USA
Hi.
How would you macro it into BI. Any instructions would be appreciated.

Thank you
It makes text files (aka "temp.txt", "wind.txt" etc.) much like BIT does and you macro them in exactly the same way. The program costs $60 though and it has a learning curve. Knowing how good Mike is with this stuff, I'd think it best to hold off and give him a chance. ;)
 

CapeData

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jul 27, 2016
Messages
62
Reaction score
11
Location
Florida
Following - hope something can be worked-out.
Before BIT, I was using the script below. Of course WU won't work now but I'm getting an error on line 66 using METAR source (used to work). Can anyone help?

EDIT:

Fixed the script: line 66 64 should be:
Code:
Set http = CreateObject("MSXML2.ServerXMLHTTP.6.0")
I created three separate .vbs scripts for temperature, humidity, and wind, and had them generate (using windows task scheduler) three .txt files which are linked to BI Macros.
See the resulting display @ gatorcam.sunandshore.com

Code:
'This file pulls XML data from a source, extracts info and writes it to a file.

'METAR example - Vero Beach Airport (KVRB)
strStationID = "KVRB"

'**** If you are using a METAR weather station instead of Weather Underground set METAR = True
'**** METAR weather stations are aviation stations and a 4 characters long
'METAR = False
METAR = True

'choice of values:

'temp_c sample: 10.1
'strValuetoExtract = "/current_observation/temp_c"

'temp_f sample: 50.2
'strValuetoExtract = "/current_observation/temp_f"

'relative_humidity sample: 73
'strValuetoExtract = "/current_observation/relative_humidity"

'wind_string sample: calm
'strValuetoExtract = "/current_observation/wind_string"

'temperature_string sample: 50.2 F (10.1 C)
strValuetoExtract = "/current_observation/temperature_string"

'wind_mph  sample: 0.0
'strValuetoExtract = "/current_observation/wind_mph"

'precip_today_in sample: 0.0
'strValuetoExtract = "/current_observation/precip_today_in"

'precip_today_metic sample: 0.0 cm
'strValuetoExtract = "/current_observation/precip_today_metric"

'windchill_string sample: don't know
'strValuetoExtract = "/current_observation/windchill_string"

'windchill_f sample: don't know
'strValuetoExtract = "/current_observation/windchill_f"

'windchill_c sample: don't know
'strValuetoExtract = "/current_observation/windchill_c"

strFolderName = "c:\"
strFilename = "temperature.txt"

If METAR then
     URL = "http://w1.weather.gov/xml/current_obs/" & strStationID & ".xml"
Else
     URL = "http://api.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXCurrentObXML.asp?ID=" & strStationID
End If

'You probably do not want to mess with the stuff below this line

Set WshShell = WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
Set http = CreateObject("Microsoft.XmlHttp")
http.open "GET", URL , FALSE
http.send ""
'WScript.Echo http.responseText

Set objXmlDoc = CreateObject("MSXML2.DomDocument")
objXmlDoc.async = True
objXmlDoc.loadXML http.responseText
If (objXmlDoc.parseError.errorCode <> 0) Then
   Dim myErr
   Set myErr = objXmlDoc.parseError
   MsgBox("You have error " & myErr.reason)
Else
   'MsgBox objXmlDoc.xml
End If

set objNode = objXmlDoc.selectSingleNode(strValuetoExtract)
set myFSO=CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
set WriteStuff = myFSO.CreateTextFile(strFoldername + strFilename,true)
WriteStuff.WriteLine(objNode.Text)
WriteStuff.Close

Const ForReading = 1
Const ForWriting = 2

Set objFSO = CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject")
Set objFile = objFSO.OpenTextFile("C:\temperature.txt", ForReading)
strFile = objFile.ReadAll
objFile.Close

intLength = Len(strFile)
strEnd = Right(strFile, 2)

If strEnd = vbCrLf Then
    strFile = Left(strFile, intLength - 2)
    Set objFile = objFSO.OpenTextFile("C:\temperature.txt", ForWriting)
    objFile.Write strFile
    objFile.Close
End If

set WriteStuff = Nothing
Set myFSO = Nothing
set WshShell = nothing
set http = nothing
set objXmlDoc = Nothing
set objNode = Nothing
 
Last edited:

eric botts

n3wb
Joined
Nov 9, 2018
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Location
WASHINGTON STATE
I don't have a weather station, but if there was a low end model that could do temp, wind, humidity I'd consider putting one up just so Blue Iris had accurate and timely updates. WUnderground has been hit of miss with me, with certain "stations" going offline and having to switch to others.
I was looking at them a year or so ago online..
Shop Amazon.com | Weather Stations
 
Last edited:

eeeeesh

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 5, 2017
Messages
237
Reaction score
371
I have this one - Accurite 5 in 1. It comes with different options, but I did not need or want their 'desktop' display unit. I bought it with their 'hub' which can upload the data to Weather Underground and you can also view the data on any computer or laptop with a webpage. The hub connects wirelessly to the 5 in 1 and then to your network via an ethernet cable. (My hub is on the ground floor and the 5 in 1 is on top of the chimney of a 2 story house). You can spend a lot more money, but I have been pretty happy with this one. I first got started with My Accurite because I bought one of their thermometers that had 3 wireless sensors that I could place around the house and I was also able to use them with their hub
 

Attachments

vandyman

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 24, 2018
Messages
266
Reaction score
539
Location
US
I have a Hubitat smart hub that pulls in weather info.
When I get some time today I will go into more details. If I am not mistaken, it gets the info from ambient weather.
Also check out weatherstack, they have a free API setup that can be used.
 

KeversRoperson

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 9, 2020
Messages
5
Reaction score
1
Location
Ipswich, UK
I am thinking of using weather.com and scraping the page for the data. Been researching it and it seems like it should work, be stable and not require any API key or anything like that. I plan on diving into testing this weekend.

Anyone care to share a link to their town / city's current weather (particularly outside of the US)? Similar to this


Code:
https://weather.com/weather/today/l/10001
Hi Mike, 100% appreciate your work and efforts on Blue Iris Tools and really hope a fix can be found.

I am thinking of using weather.com and scraping the page for the data. Been researching it and it seems like it should work, be stable and not require any API key or anything like that. I plan on diving into testing this weekend.

Anyone care to share a link to their town / city's current weather (particularly outside of the US)? Similar to this


Code:
https://weather.com/weather/today/l/10001
I'm not a programmer etc however have noticed you can generate an API key from your account area on Weather Underground if that's any use?

Thanks again for all your work!
 
Top