Dahua NVR can't add wireless cameras

Joined
Jul 11, 2020
Messages
8
Reaction score
4
Location
80525
I'm having trouble adding wireless cameras to my NVR5208 NVR. I already have several POE cameras up and working on 10.1.1 subnet but I want to add several wireless cameras on the 192.168.1 subnet. Yes I've read the Cliff notes and the "NVR & POE Switch thread" and the "***PSA for those with a New DAHUA NVR with Built-in PoE switch" thread. The cameras I want to add do show up when I do a "device search" on the camera registration page and I can add the cameras successfully directly to DMSS and smartpss just not to the NVR. One camera is an Amcrest and another is an Onvif Axis camera. Can the NVR add cameras on its own 192.168.1 subnet?
 

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
6,031
Reaction score
3,998
I'm having trouble adding wireless cameras to my NVR5208 NVR. I already have several POE cameras up and working on 10.1.1 subnet but I want to add several wireless cameras on the 192.168.1 subnet. Yes I've read the Cliff notes and the "NVR & POE Switch thread" and the "***PSA for those with a New DAHUA NVR with Built-in PoE switch" thread. The cameras I want to add do show up when I do a "device search" on the camera registration page and I can add the cameras successfully directly to DMSS and smartpss just not to the NVR. One camera is an Amcrest and another is an Onvif Axis camera. Can the NVR add cameras on its own 192.168.1 subnet?
Hi @photogeek54

How many cameras do you have on the PoE ports of the NVR?
 

bigredfish

Known around here
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
4,626
Reaction score
5,955
Location
Florida USA
I'm having trouble adding wireless cameras to my NVR5208 NVR. I already have several POE cameras up and working on 10.1.1 subnet but I want to add several wireless cameras on the 192.168.1 subnet. Yes I've read the Cliff notes and the "NVR & POE Switch thread" and the "***PSA for those with a New DAHUA NVR with Built-in PoE switch" thread. The cameras I want to add do show up when I do a "device search" on the camera registration page and I can add the cameras successfully directly to DMSS and smartpss just not to the NVR. One camera is an Amcrest and another is an Onvif Axis camera. Can the NVR add cameras on its own 192.168.1 subnet?

If they show up on the Reg page why cant you add them? Are they showing a 192.169.1.x address on the Reg page? Can you show a screen shot?

Yes you can have both PoE port cameras on the 10.1.1.x net as well as external switch cameras on the 192.168.1.x net as per below

comboPoEandExternalswitch.jpg
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2020
Messages
8
Reaction score
4
Location
80525
I can add them but they show up "red". Yes they show up on 192.168.1 subnet. The amcrest shows up as manufacturer private and the others show up as Onvif. I'll send a screen shot when I can. It seems to take several hours before they show up in the device search part of the window after I've made configuration changes.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2020
Messages
8
Reaction score
4
Location
80525
I have1 Dahua and 1 Amcrest camera on the POE ports. Unlike bigredfish's example my wireless cameras are Amcrest and Onvif if that makes a difference. I'm using the web interface of the Dahua NVR.
 

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jan 17, 2017
Messages
6,031
Reaction score
3,998
I have1 Dahua and 1 Amcrest camera on the POE ports. Unlike bigredfish's example my wireless cameras are Amcrest and Onvif if that makes a difference. I'm using the web interface of the Dahua NVR.
Hi @photogeek54

Many amcrest cameras are Dahua OEM and you should be able to add them manually in the NVR ( Dahua OEM )

What is the NVR's LAN ( like the "WAN" port on a router ) port IP?
Is your LAN 192.168.1.x ?
 

bigredfish

Known around here
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
4,626
Reaction score
5,955
Location
Florida USA
I can add them but they show up "red". Yes they show up on 192.168.1 subnet. The amcrest shows up as manufacturer private and the others show up as Onvif. I'll send a screen shot when I can. It seems to take several hours before they show up in the device search part of the window after I've made configuration changes.
So you CAN add them...
The red dot simply means the expected password the NVR is seeing is wrong. After you add them, Click the pencil icon on one of the ones with a red dot and edit the login/pass info and make sure and choose the “private” protocol in the drop down box.

Note that the password typically is the same one the NVR uses. The camera assumes the NVR password on newer Dahua cams when plugged into the PoE ports of a Dahua PoE NVR .
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2020
Messages
8
Reaction score
4
Location
80525
Router is 192.168.1.1
NVR WAN port is 192.168.1.108
Camera I'm trying to add are 192.158.1.101 (onvif) and 192.168.1.150 (amcrest Ip2m-841W).
The user name and passwords are the same as the NVR, I'm able to log into these camera's directly so I know the password is correct.
New news: I got into the Onvif camera by changing the manufacturer from Onvif to Axis! I verified that the Onvif username and password were the same as the web login but can't get into this camera or the Amcrest via onvif.
Could these cameras just be too old and something's changed in the protocol?
 

Attachments

Bryan

Pulling my weight
Joined
Nov 25, 2016
Messages
256
Reaction score
237
On the screen does the camera show anything like "account locked"? Any message for the one not working? Do you have the 150 camera port forwarded in your router with 37777?
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2020
Messages
8
Reaction score
4
Location
80525
OK, I got the axis cameras working by changing the manufacturer to Axis rather than Onvif but I still have 1 samsung SNH-P6410BN Smartcam HD Pro ONVIF camera that I can access via VLC using the open network stream "rtsp:/192.168.1.226/onvif/profile5/media.smp " but won't open on the NVR. the NVR says "failed to get camera properties" and "failed to open video". I'd like to be able to access Onvif cameras which is why I'm still working on this. Any ideas?
 
Top