Firmware for newer dahua cams as well as detailed specs available here

Discussion in 'Dahua' started by fenderman, Aug 18, 2016.

Share This Page

  1. CrazyAsYou

    CrazyAsYou Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    24
    Got my two IPC-HDW5231R-ZE yesturday and have them on test now, they came shipped with below firmware, everything seems to be working - Is there any need to update this firmware?

    System Version 2.460.0000.15.R, Build Date: 2017-09-07
    WEB Version 3.2.1.492613
    ONVIF Version 16.12(V2.3.1.458331)
     
  2. Terk

    Terk Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    104
    How is the zoom, do you use it through Blue Iris? I have the same camera on the same firmware and it has a great picture but through Blue Iris it is either all the way zoomed out or all the way zoomed in I can't get it to zoom partway.
     
  3. truglo

    truglo Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    28
    In Blue Iris/camera preferences/PTZ/custom html commands, try setting the zoom-in button for the camera to something like:

    /cgi-bin/devVideoInput.cgi?action=adjustFocus&focus=0.071429&zoom=0.5

    That should get your camera to zoom half way when you hit the zoom-in button. You may have to play with the focus to get it perfect. This works on all my Dahua cameras (including my non-E IPC-HDW5231R-Z). If you have several zoom/focus combinations you would like to use, you can program more BI buttons with different values (ptz up/down/left/right buttons for example). You just have to remember which button you programmed to do what. This is very useful for automating zoom/focus/exposure/etc... with the scheduling system in BI. Copies of the Dahua API pdf can be found all over these forums. Refer to that if you want to expand BI ptz control to more than just zoom/focus.

    On a side note, to make camera adjustments go faster, you might want to make use of Dahua web browser commands like this:

    http://admin:password@192.168.0.2/c...justFocusContinuously&focus=0.071429&zoom=0.5

    Of course change the user/password/ip to match your camera. With BI opened up and your favorite browser firing the commands, you can quickly tweak focus, zoom, etc... for a scene.

    Cheers,
    Kev
     
    CrazyAsYou likes this.
  4. CrazyAsYou

    CrazyAsYou Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    24
    My Zoom in BI and everything I've test so far seems to be working fine
     
  5. Terk

    Terk Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    104
    @truglo In trying to make the changes suggested I also tried different PTZ settings and when I went back to Onvif then the zoom started working as expected. Glad its working I was contemplating a firmware update but wasn't looking forward to it. Thanks!
     
  6. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,313
    Likes Received:
    5,631
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    If you arn't having any issue's, I wouldn't.
     
    Princeau99 likes this.
  7. CrazyAsYou

    CrazyAsYou Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    24
    That was my thought, I work in the world of IT and we normally only update firmware to correct bugs or security issues. I've got my cams on a private VLAN with no access to the outside world so security is not a concern and as everything seems to be working as I need it the age old "if it's not broke don't fix it" statment applies :)
     
    Princeau99 and looney2ns like this.
  8. Testomat

    Testomat n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, i have a IPC-HDW5231R-ZE.

    System Version 2.460.0000.14.R, Build Date: 2017-07-20
    WEB Version 3.2.1.474688
    ONVIF Version 16.12(V2.3.1.458331)

    Where can i find the latest firmware ? Sometimes the cam is going off. The cam is not reachable anymore. I have to turn off my switch and after a while, the cam is online. i think it is the same problem like here ?
    Dahua Starlight IPC-HDW5231RN-Z not working :(

    Looney, any advice for me ?
     
  9. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,313
    Likes Received:
    5,631
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    On the cams page at the Dahua international site. http://www.dahuasecurity.com/

    But, more times than not, this is a cable issue. Rule that out first by using a known good factory made cable to test.
    Or simply try resetting the cam to factory defaults.
     
  10. Testomat

    Testomat n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe it is a cable problem. But i'm asking me, why is it working sometimes for 2-3 days, sometimes a week...it's different times, i don't have a connection to the cam. The cable is not moving, don't touch anything...It's funny.
    I will buy two new cable and try it again. I come back later.
     
  11. CrazyAsYou

    CrazyAsYou Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    24
    for about £5 you can buy a cable tester (even the very cheap ones work just fine) saves a lot of hassle trying to guess and allows you to quickly rule in or out the cable
     
  12. MixManSC

    MixManSC Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    May 20, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    USA
  13. dmsims

    dmsims n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Torquay, UK
    Yes but these only test for continuity (which will pass)
     
  14. CrazyAsYou

    CrazyAsYou Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    24
    Well it will also confirm the pairs are correct as well but how else would you look to test a copper cable?
     
  15. CrazyAsYou

    CrazyAsYou Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    24
    Arjun likes this.
  16. dmsims

    dmsims n3wb

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Torquay, UK
    Use a TDR
     
  17. CrazyAsYou

    CrazyAsYou Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    24
    ok I'll give you that but a little beyond the reach of what most people will want at home to test a few network cables, be cheaper to rewire.
     
  18. alastairstevenson

    alastairstevenson Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2014
    Messages:
    11,064
    Likes Received:
    3,495
    Location:
    Scotland
    Actually a continuity tester will not tell you that the pairs are correct.
    It simply confirms that the wire connected to pin x at one end is also connected to pin x at the other end, and there are no shorts.
    It has no way to determine if the twisted pairs have been maintained properly.

    But a continuity tester in conjunction with a visual inspection that the wire colour sequence is correct will be a valid test, given that wire gauge and cable length are within specification.
     
    looney2ns and fenderman like this.
  19. Jedi2020

    Jedi2020 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    USA
    Where do people get their latest firmware for international model camera like SD49225T-HN?
     
  20. looney2ns

    looney2ns IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    7,313
    Likes Received:
    5,631
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana