How To Upgrade Amcrest / Lorex to Dahua Firmware And Get All Dahua Features

scoob8000

n3wb
Joined
Dec 28, 2018
Messages
15
Reaction score
1
Location
PA
You will find that Amcrest and Lorex have been hardcoding the units to not allow updates to Dahua firmware. No idea if this camera is one of them, but it is new enough it could be.

But you do not want 8MP on a 1/2.8" sensor. The 2MP version on the same size sensor will kick the 8MP version butt all night long...
I've been looking at 4k cameras lately and that research brought me to this thread for some reason. I've been very happy with my 5mp Amcrest cameras. I remember when 4k cams were first coming out, folks were saying 5mp units were better for night scenes. Guess that's still true somewhat?

The whole reason I was thinking of getting a 4k was to put up on my detached garage looking back at my house and back yard. The area is pretty well lit at night with dusk to dawn lights. House is 80-100ish feet from the garage. I put up a old no name 4mp I had in the parts bin just to see how it would look. I like the view of the back of the house and cars in the driveway, but it's not enough if I want to try to take a closer look and zoom in digitally in blueiris.

Sorry for the hijack. I probably should start a new thread just for this matter.
 

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
16,255
Reaction score
30,253
Location
USA
I've been looking at 4k cameras lately and that research brought me to this thread for some reason. I've been very happy with my 5mp Amcrest cameras. I remember when 4k cams were first coming out, folks were saying 5mp units were better for night scenes. Guess that's still true somewhat?

The whole reason I was thinking of getting a 4k was to put up on my detached garage looking back at my house and back yard. The area is pretty well lit at night with dusk to dawn lights. House is 80-100ish feet from the garage. I put up a old no name 4mp I had in the parts bin just to see how it would look. I like the view of the back of the house and cars in the driveway, but it's not enough if I want to try to take a closer look and zoom in digitally in blueiris.

Sorry for the hijack. I probably should start a new thread just for this matter.
80 to 100 feet of digital zoom with any fixed lens at night will be problematic. You would need a camera with a larger focal length to optically zoom in and set it.

Now with that said, the 4K/X on a larger 1/1.2" sensor would be a good overview choice with some digital zoom capabilities.
 

scoob8000

n3wb
Joined
Dec 28, 2018
Messages
15
Reaction score
1
Location
PA
80 to 100 feet of digital zoom with any fixed lens at night will be problematic. You would need a camera with a larger focal length to optically zoom in and set it.

Now with that said, the 4K/X on a larger 1/1.2" sensor would be a good overview choice with some digital zoom capabilities.
I know the rule of don't try to do too much with one camera. :)

I temporarily have it mounted just above my garage door about 9ft off the ground. Up close I have a great view of the driveway close to the garage and any cars close to it. Even got some good video of a buck wandering thru my yard the other night. I don't want to really give up that wide angle to see further. Seeing further is just to suppliment another cam I have on the house, looking towards the garage. So that's why I was kinda leaning towards more pixels.

I was looking at this guy, but I'm having a hard time justifying more than $100 or so to add yet another camera to my 9 cam system. :)
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2022
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
USA
Greetings everyone! I hope you’re having a great day!

As of today, the IP5M-T1179EW with the “03-2022” manufacturing date cannot be downgraded to an older Amcrest version which then allowed it to be upgraded to the Dahua firmware. If you try the downgrade, it will brick after it’s done flashing the official firmware. Tested this on 3 cameras and all 3 bricked. Before the 03-2022 revision I flashed 80+ IP5M-T1179EW with almost zero fail rate.
Do you mind if I ask where you purchased the IP5M-T1179EW from? I have an old one that I purchased in 2020 that I flashed to Dahua firmware successfully, and I was planning on buying a couple more from Amazon to do the same, so I'm wondering if Amazon has any older stock or if they're all newer ones that can't be cross-flashed.
 

observant1

Pulling my weight
Joined
Dec 2, 2018
Messages
154
Reaction score
107
Location
alabama
I was discussing this with an IT mgr that has Lorex in about 14 stores. We kinda agreed if u want more pay the price for the extra. Not a great resolution, but we both agreed it may be the best way. After all, the physical installation at a large facility, say 64 cameras or more is to install a quality physical network.
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2021
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Puerto Rico
Do you mind if I ask where you purchased the IP5M-T1179EW from? I have an old one that I purchased in 2020 that I flashed to Dahua firmware successfully, and I was planning on buying a couple more from Amazon to do the same, so I'm wondering if Amazon has any older stock or if they're all newer ones that can't be cross-flashed.
Got them all from amazon! every single order i've gotten so far has been the new 03-22 revision :(
 

observant1

Pulling my weight
Joined
Dec 2, 2018
Messages
154
Reaction score
107
Location
alabama
That's unfortunate. It's aso something I'd like a link or place to read more
Not that i've rebranded a camera or nvr with a different firmware, but I know some of the members here are capable of manipulating the firmwar to gain a feature or unlock a feature.. I'm not that adventurous.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2022
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
USA
Has anyone figured a way to downgrade the Amcrest IP5M-T1179EW units to allow installation of an earlier firmware or swapping straight to the Dahua firmware? Very disappointed to find that both of my cameras also have a 03-2022 software build date and dont want to risk bricking them.

There has to be a way to bypass this restriction surely? Curious if anyone has done any digging into what it would take to override.
 
Top