How to view Dahua cameras without browser plugins

Discussion in 'Dahua' started by tangent, May 18, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. nymphaeles

    nymphaeles Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    55
    SmartPSS interface is tiny because of your screen resolution. I have that issue on my 4K monitor, too. SmartPSS is not an app that is works well with Windows 10 on higher resolution screen. Use a monitor 1920x1080 should give you enough screen size for SmartPSS.
    Use latest version of Pale Moon browser, and you won't have a problem with accessing either the NVR or your cams. If you plug you cams in the built-in PoE ports on the NVR, that is a closed network that you can't get to, so it won't connect.
     
    HappyChappie likes this.
  2. HappyChappie

    HappyChappie n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    Hi, Thanks for the prompt replies. I'm using a Panasonic TX-58AX802B which is a 58" UHD LED screen as my monitor. I have installed the IE plug in and the log in screen is there but again it's tiny. Tried to do a screen grab but it(Chrome) says it will not run an extension withing another extension I'm currently running the resolution at 3840x2160
     
  3. nymphaeles

    nymphaeles Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    55
    If this is the only monitor hooked up to your Windows 10 PC, then use Pale Moon browser and that Web interface from the browser should give you all the tools you need to configure you cams. Within the browser interface, you can use Ctrl+ to increase your interface size, and that may help, too.
     
    HappyChappie likes this.
  4. HappyChappie

    HappyChappie n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    Switched to 1920x1080 and managed to log in. So far so good.Now it says @please install plugins first!" Will I not be able to access my cameras through my router and NVR? I am wanting to access the cameras to disable the IR lamps on two of them as I'm getting too much glare from white roof eaves. TIA.
     
  5. nymphaeles

    nymphaeles Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    55
    This version should work for you
    upload_2019-3-27_10-47-4.png
     
    HappyChappie likes this.
  6. HappyChappie

    HappyChappie n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for the help. If I use this browser (Pale Moon) do I just run SmartPSS and go from there?
    I have managed to get SmartPSS working through the ie plug in (Cheers Looney2ns) but my resolution as all over the place with the preview screens masked off in areas if that makes sense! Does it matter my pc is 64bit?
     
  7. tangent

    tangent IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3,853
    Likes Received:
    2,515
    What version of SmartPSS are you running?
     
    HappyChappie likes this.
  8. HappyChappie

    HappyChappie n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    This is what I've downloaded and run.

    General_SMARTPSS-FLIR_Win32_ChnEng_IS_V2.002.0000007.0.T.190122.exe
     
  9. HappyChappie

    HappyChappie n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    Downloaded Pale Moon and my SmartPSS screen resolution problems have been resolved. Many thanks from a very grateful Scottish forum member.

    Now if anyone can point me to a solution to switching off the IR lights on individual cameras I'd be a very Happy Chappie!
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2019
  10. nymphaeles

    nymphaeles Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2017
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    55
    IR Light controls are under Camera-->Conditions-->IR Light. You can select your option to have it on Manual, SmartIR, or Off. See the screen shot attached.
    upload_2019-3-27_15-15-44.png
     

    Attached Files:

    HappyChappie likes this.
  11. HappyChappie

    HappyChappie n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    Ahh, I see where it's going wrong. My SmartPSS view does not look anything like the one you are showing me. I can't get a screen grab to show you but it does not have the Dahua logo where yours is, my version has "Web service" at the top left corner, and on the right side there are arrows for ptz, focus and iris. Maybe this is the version that is loaded in my NVR?
     
  12. HappyChappie

    HappyChappie n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    This is not my screen but 99% the same.
    WEB Service pic2.jpg
     
  13. tangent

    tangent IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3,853
    Likes Received:
    2,515
    Neither this screenshot or the one above are of SmartPSS both are of web browsers.
     
    HappyChappie likes this.
  14. HappyChappie

    HappyChappie n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    Ok, I was not aware of that. I have now downloaded SmartPSS_International_Win32_IS_V2.02.1.R.180619 which seems to be the latest version. After tweaking the screen resolution I got it to run ok ie it sees all eight cameras etc but I still cannot find where I can switch off the IR lamps. The options given are very similar and as limited as the NVR menus. Any idea where I go from here?
     
  15. tangent

    tangent IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3,853
    Likes Received:
    2,515
    Can move the camera a little to reduce reflection?

    Open the NVR's IP address in your browser. Go to the page the lists the cameras and click on the little internet explorer icon by the camera. This will let you access the camera's settings directly.
     
    HappyChappie likes this.
  16. HappyChappie

    HappyChappie n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks for the info. I tried and it all went well until it asked for username and password for the individual camera. I thought it was admin+admin and tried that but it is not accepting. Just past midnight and I'm working in the morning so I'm off to bed. I'll check again tomorrow if you can suggest any way around this. Thanks for all the help so far guys, it is really appreciated.
     
  17. tangent

    tangent IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3,853
    Likes Received:
    2,515
    The NVR's password should work.
     
    HappyChappie likes this.
  18. HappyChappie

    HappyChappie n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    That is what was stopping me. I entered the NVR password on the camera log in and bingo! I was in. Thanks again.
    I can now access the individual cameras and play with all the setting through the camera interface (exactly like the one in nymphaeles pic) so now I have switched off the IR on two cams and adjusted the ptz range on another two. I'm very grateful for the time and the patience shown by all in helping me to resolve this. Cheers Guys.
     
    tangent likes this.
  19. HappyChappie

    HappyChappie n3wb

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    Hi,me again! I am using Pale Moon to view my cameras but if I leave it for about 30-40 minutes I get the error message "connection time is out" is there any way of stopping this as I have to log on again and pick the camera views I want to see.
    When I reload and log in on the top left is says preview and the circle is spinning and I can stop this with the stop command in right click but the connection continues to time out. Is there some kind of work around or setting I can change?
     
  20. tangent

    tangent IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3,853
    Likes Received:
    2,515
    Using SmartPSS is probably the best option.