[tool] [tutorial] Free AI Person Detection for Blue Iris

mayop

n3wb
Joined
Jul 20, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
2
Location
Canada
Okay, so pulled the :gpu version (and installed this Announcing CUDA on Windows Subsystem for Linux 2 | NVIDIA Developer Blog).

This is what I'm seeing in Powershell? I assume this isn't right as nothing is going to my AItool, The below GIN messages correspond to me going outside to try and trigger a camera. I'm not sure why it's using 172.17.0.1 as the IP address?.
It looks the same as mine. Yours is running 10x faster than my cpu version on a i7-4790 so it might be using your gpu. Mine typically runs 500-700ms per query.

If you right click on the docker system tray icon and select Dashboard you can view the same info there. You can also stop and delete a container there too.

docker_main.png docker_expanded.png

Just click on the name and it will show the image on the right
 

GentlePumpkin

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 4, 2017
Messages
169
Reaction score
252
@GentlePumpkin, I don't seem to be getting a notification now on alerts, are these the right settings? I.e., if I check "Motion Zones", I end up with the usual array of false alerts since every time motion is triggered it sends an alert.

But if I turn off Motion zones, I get zero alerts to my email and phone, even though AITools is showing pictures and I'm getting a "Flagged" notification in BI when it detects a human. But it's not triggering an alert.

View attachment 67704
Damn I can‘t remember what my workaround for this was... My first idea would be to additionally add a trigger url for this camera to the “trigger URL(s)“ box in AI Tool and set blue iris to only fire alerts on external (disable motion zones).
 

GentlePumpkin

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 4, 2017
Messages
169
Reaction score
252
@GentlePumpkin could you elaborate on the 9 points, please? Are the points single pixels in the corners of an object's box, or are they regions/zones? I'd like to fine-tune my masks so knowing how AI Tool handles these points would be helpful. Thank you!

View attachment 67720
correct, the points are placed like you visualized in the image. Always one individual pixel. If more than 4 pixels of nine are in a masked area, it will be suppressed
 

GentlePumpkin

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 4, 2017
Messages
169
Reaction score
252
@GentlePumpkin

Is there any chance you could indicate how the trigger function works with 1.67 and without a clone? Please see my earlier post.
the basic idea is that alerts are generated as usual by Blue Iris motion detection and that AI Tool only flags those alerts, that include humans etc. As I didn‘t use the BI alerts recently, I probably did not realize that this won‘t support BI alerts.

Can somebody confirm that it only sends alerts if in the Alert tab „external“ is set as the only input and AI Tool triggers and flag the alert?
 

pmcross

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
330
Reaction score
164
Location
Pennsylvania
the basic idea is that alerts are generated as usual by Blue Iris motion detection and that AI Tool only flags those alerts, that include humans etc. As I didn‘t use the BI alerts recently, I probably did not realize that this won‘t support BI alerts.

Can somebody confirm that it only sends alerts if in the Alert tab „external“ is set as the only input and AI Tool triggers and flag the alert?
This correct, you will only get alerts in BI if you have External selected.
 

pmcross

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jan 16, 2017
Messages
330
Reaction score
164
Location
Pennsylvania
Okay, so pulled the :gpu version (and installed this Announcing CUDA on Windows Subsystem for Linux 2 | NVIDIA Developer Blog).

This is what I'm seeing in Powershell? I assume this isn't right as nothing is going to my AItool, The below GIN messages correspond to me going outside to try and trigger a camera. I'm not sure why it's using 172.17.0.1 as the IP address?.

View attachment 67727
172.17.0.1 is the virtual network that Docker Desktop creates when it spins up the VM to run Deepstack.
 

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
1,572
Reaction score
850
Location
United Kingdom
Just got a response from BlueIris, he will implement JPEG resolutions in the next release!! So you don't need to use a substream perse, and can set custom jpeg resolutions.
Oh not quite what I wanted, I wanted to be able to pull a snapshot from the main stream while detecting motion on the substream but I’ll give it a test to see what I get.
 
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
13
Reaction score
3
Location
UK
the basic idea is that alerts are generated as usual by Blue Iris motion detection and that AI Tool only flags those alerts, that include humans etc. As I didn‘t use the BI alerts recently, I probably did not realize that this won‘t support BI alerts.

Can somebody confirm that it only sends alerts if in the Alert tab „external“ is set as the only input and AI Tool triggers and flag the alert?
Many thanks but I still have no idea how recorded video is triggered. If video is enabled it will simply record everything that initiates the trigger, just as it would without AITool. If video is disabled I only capture static images?
How does BI differentiate between a trigger from the camera and from AITool? Am I being really dumb?

In my mind I need to enable video record but disable the internal connection that BI makes to the internal trigger so that it will only record when AITool sends the command line.
 

GentlePumpkin

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 4, 2017
Messages
169
Reaction score
252
Many thanks but I still have no idea how recorded video is triggered. If video is enabled it will simply record everything that initiates the trigger, just as it would without AITool. If video is disabled I only capture static images?
How does BI differentiate between a trigger from the camera and from AITool? Am I being really dumb?

In my mind I need to enable video record but disable the internal connection that BI makes to the internal trigger so that it will only record when AITool sends the command line.
i‘ll have to rewrite the setup documentation to support the trigger events. regarding recorded video: I record 24/7 and I get a short sequence of the length of the break time whenever BI detects motion. Currently this sequence will be flagged if AI Tool detects sth, but then Alerts won‘t work, so this needs some rework.
 

Lee1402

Young grasshopper
Joined
Jul 30, 2020
Messages
30
Reaction score
10
Location
Longmont, CO
Hey Guys I finally got AI tool to work with DeepStack and BI. But AI Tool keeps shutting itself down. I'm getting triggers but by the time I get back to the computer AI Tool has shut down and I have to restart it. Does anyone have any idea why It keeps shutting down. I do have the latest version of AI Tool.
 
Joined
May 6, 2020
Messages
13
Reaction score
3
Location
UK
i‘ll have to rewrite the setup documentation to support the trigger events. regarding recorded video: I record 24/7 and I get a short sequence of the length of the break time whenever BI detects motion. Currently this sequence will be flagged if AI Tool detects sth, but then Alerts won‘t work, so this needs some rework.
Thank you so much for clarifying the functionality. To sum up it would seem that using a clone camera has the advantage of being able to record only when AITool triggers which how I had it working previously. Oh well, fortunately I have a backup with all the cloned cameras.
 

pbc

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
780
Reaction score
106
exactly

Damn sorry for the trouble, I‘ll update the guide. For everyone who has already set up the old version, there is no need to reconfigure everything. Duplicate cams will still work and I‘ll try to keep them working through future versions.
It works perfectly now bud! Some of us (me) can be a bit slow on the uptake at times!
 

pbc

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jul 11, 2014
Messages
780
Reaction score
106
172.17.0.1 is the virtual network that Docker Desktop creates when it spins up the VM to run Deepstack.
It looks the same as mine. Yours is running 10x faster than my cpu version on a i7-4790 so it might be using your gpu. Mine typically runs 500-700ms per query.

If you right click on the docker system tray icon and select Dashboard you can view the same info there. You can also stop and delete a container there too.

View attachment 67731 View attachment 67732

Just click on the name and it will show the image on the right
So I'm at a loss then how to get it to update my AITools folder? Getting tons of clips being viewed by Deepstack, but nothing in my AITools windows app and therefore no triggers going to my cameras?

Must be missing a command somewhere?

1596229653224.png
 

GentlePumpkin

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 4, 2017
Messages
169
Reaction score
252
Hey Guys I finally got AI tool to work with DeepStack and BI. But AI Tool keeps shutting itself down. I'm getting triggers but by the time I get back to the computer AI Tool has shut down and I have to restart it. Does anyone have any idea why It keeps shutting down. I do have the latest version of AI Tool.
is the process aitool.exe still visible in task manager?
 

mayop

n3wb
Joined
Jul 20, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
2
Location
Canada
So I'm at a loss then how to get it to update my AITools folder? Getting tons of clips being viewed by Deepstack, but nothing in my AITools windows app and therefore no triggers going to my cameras?

Must be missing a command somewhere?

View attachment 67740
It's giving a HTTP 401 error. It should be 200 which is a HTTP code for OK. Error 401 = "Unauthorized client error". Seems I missed that the first time you posted it.

Did you try visiting your deepstack container in a web browser to make sure it's activated?
 

GentlePumpkin

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 4, 2017
Messages
169
Reaction score
252
So I'm at a loss then how to get it to update my AITools folder? Getting tons of clips being viewed by Deepstack, but nothing in my AITools windows app and therefore no triggers going to my cameras?

Must be missing a command somewhere?

View attachment 67740
Regarding the procedure:
1. Blue Iris motion detection detect an movement.
2. Blue Iris stores a snapshot of the scene in the input folder
3. AI Tool detects the image and forwards it to Deepstack
4. Deepstack analyzes the images and returns the results to AI Tool
5. AI Tool triggers the camera in Blue Iris

As @mayop elaborated, Deepstack probably isn‘t activated.
 
Top