YooSee SD-M5 doorbell: 1080p, PoE, RTSP, Onvif, only $66

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
8,129
Reaction score
13,043
Location
Alabama
. Sorry for a worthless post, I'll be happy to bow out..
No, please don't.... your presence here is welcome.

It is clear to me that you were responding to a direct question asking why you wanted the doorbell to be viewable on Blue Iris.

Question asked.....question answered. Works for me ! :cool:
 

Cinnman

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
33
Reaction score
32
Location
SC
Thank you TonyR. Np really, It wasn't much of an issue and I have no problem with Ford---he's entitled to state his opinion too---life's just too short for negativity---so I just tend to choose not engaging. As more info, a little more than 3 weeks ago, I didn't even KNOW what Blue Iris was...just saw a post (on this site, I think) and was really impressed with the program once I got thru the 2 week free trial period. So I figure I obtained some education because someone, somewhere wrote it down for me to read. I'm going to try to post up a little more info here in just a little while, but tearing cams all down and flying out of town this week for another adventure.
 

Cinnman

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
33
Reaction score
32
Location
SC
Ok, just information in case anyone else got one or maybe thinking about one and is interested. This is what worked for me:

Blue Iris does find the camera with no problem. Lists it as a Generic/ONVIF make and RTSP H.264/H.265/MJPG/MPEG4 model. I first had to use the phone app to set the required RTSP password in the app and connect---nothing else I tried would let me look at anything---and got immediate disconnect from programs when trying to look.

Then, the user in Bi Network IP Camera Configuration needs to be "admin" and the password needs to be that RTSP password that you set up thru the phone. The user id for the phone app won't work and the additional user id that I later set up in the included CMS client program wouldn't work nor would any of the other passwords or users that I set up work. The only other setting that seems to be required is to add "/onvif1"
in the Video path block of that Bi configuration window. For some reason, it took several seconds then before it showed the stream but it finally worked. And sometimes, the stream gets lost or is slow to connect when I start Bi. (seems like it might be associated with triggering or recording and maybe processor related??).

I just uploaded a media file that shows the capture. The thing seems to focus about 1 1/2 ft to 2 feet (which I guess makes sense since it's a doorbell and you could just reach out and press the button at arms length?) but not an impressive picture to say the least. I also set up a only slightly more expensive mini dome cam (that I just got from this IPC site) in the same location just for comparison, but ran into the upload limit here, so I will have to see if anyone wants to see it later. Much nicer image and audio (but not a doorbell).

(IMHO) impression:
The phone app does work fairly well. Quick notification to my phone, view is selected LD/SD/HD and not too terrible on my SG Note 9 screen---I can pinch and zoom in and recognize a face. I didn't test it much, but was not impressed by the audio. My guess is that it could be used along with the accessory chime and relay for entry use but I didn't order these and don't have the time right now to play with it, but maybe next month. Like I mentioned earlier, for a specific "unsecure" entry like a gate to the yard, it may work for me. As a security camera---it's not (in my estimate). I would definitely want a high quality camera surveying the area around the doorbell if I had a need for security cameras. Never saw a Ring (or any other doorbell cam for that matter), so can't say how it compares.
 

SecuritySeeker

Pulling my weight
Joined
Oct 5, 2018
Messages
267
Reaction score
154
Location
Netherlands
Hi Cinnman,

I just uploaded a media file that shows the capture. The thing seems to focus about 1 1/2 ft to 2 feet (which I guess makes sense since it's a doorbell and you could just reach out and press the button at arms length?) but not an impressive picture to say the least.
That does look pretty bad. I'm no expert but I'd say it's simply optically out of focus. Would love to know what others think.

If you are up to it, you could perhaps try opening it up and see if you can adjust the focus manually. The lens should normally be on a thread allowing it to be focused. It's a fixed focus camera module but it still needs to be focused and I'm guessing they screwed up (no pun intended) on that part of the assembly.

Only trouble is that they might have glued the lens/thread assembly after focusing it in the factory (assuming they bothered doing that) in which case it might not be possible to correct the focus. If you feel like trying to correct the focus and that works I think it could drastically improve the image quality.

Incidentally, I tried to embed your video from the gallery but I'm getting an error message "The specified url cannot be embedded as media". Here's a clickable link to your footage:


Thank you for taking the time to upload this. I think I will send them an email to ask what they have to say about your footage. Even cheap crap can do better than this (our cheap ass baby cam has way better quality despite having 640x480 resolution at best).
 

Cinnman

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
33
Reaction score
32
Location
SC
Thanks SecuritySeeker. I'll take a look. I don't even mind disassembly just for the heck of it LOL--I've taken a lot of stuff apart in my life just to see how it was put together (of course, most times I end up with a few parts left over IF I get it back together again). If they answer you, please let me know.
 

Cinnman

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
33
Reaction score
32
Location
SC
DAMN---fine call SecuritySeeker. Lens is threaded, but there is a set screw on side between the two mainboards but is a bit of a pain to get to. However image is already much easier on the eyes---almost in focus. I may need to play around with it a few times, but an amazing improvement. Either doesn't speak well for their QC (or maybe bounced around a LOT on the trip from China? Or maybe the ups man I saw tossing the package across the gate didn't help?). Anyway for those who might be inclined to point out, yes, I surely voided my warranty but not worth it cause I would never see spending $ to ship it back to China.
I don't have it set up outside now, so I can't update the capture. But thanks.
 

Cinnman

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
33
Reaction score
32
Location
SC
What a difference. Thank you Security Seeker. A couple of tweaks and wow! I didn't take time to remount it and do much AND really different conditions from outside this morning when it was bright and sunny. Now early evening and overcast and yes, that is rain falling. (Dang, still haven't figured out how to embed the video here) But I think the link works?

focused Yoosee
 

SecuritySeeker

Pulling my weight
Joined
Oct 5, 2018
Messages
267
Reaction score
154
Location
Netherlands
What a difference. Thank you Security Seeker. A couple of tweaks and wow!
Awesome! The difference is night and day. It would be good enough for my purposes, at least in daylight.

Now early evening and overcast and yes, that is rain falling.
Really good. If you get the time some dusk/dawn/nighttime footage would be nice to see.

(Dang, still haven't figured out how to embed the video here) But I think the link works?
focused Yoosee
Yep, link works fine. FWIW I haven't been able to get video embedded either.

DAMN---fine call SecuritySeeker. Lens is threaded, but there is a set screw on side between the two mainboards but is a bit of a pain to get to.
Good thing they only used the set screw and didn't glue it.

Our first baby cam had a fine picture but after having dropped from a table at least a hundred times it suddenly became blurry. I opened it up to see if I could adjust it, assuming it had become unfocussed, but unfortunately the lens had been glued in place on the thread. To this day I don't really understand what happened there, it was impossible to turn the lens for focussing but it did become unfocused somehow. Nothing looked damaged in any way.

Anyway, I'm glad your lens wasn't glued in place and you were able to focus it.

Either doesn't speak well for their QC
Definitely a possibility but, since they didn't glue it, these:

(or maybe bounced around a LOT on the trip from China? Or maybe the ups man I saw tossing the package across the gate didn't help?).
are also perfectly plausible causes.

Anyway for those who might be inclined to point out, yes, I surely voided my warranty but not worth it cause I would never see spending $ to ship it back to China.
Yeah that's almost never worth it. Only time I ever sent anything back to China was a fairly expensive tablet which had an interference problem. Did get my money back so it was worth it that one time.

Again thank you very much for all your work and posting about it here.
 

Cinnman

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
33
Reaction score
32
Location
SC
Interesting read, funny I had not paid much attention to de-warping. I'll have to go back and look. The difference in clip is probably me. I clip the exported (thru Blue Iris) captured video in Pinnacle Studio so it only is a short file (and cuts my handsome mug out to spare everyone's viewing pain). I think that I was in a hurry (excited to see a focused video?) that I exported the clip in 720p instead of 1080p for the second one. No other alterations in Pinnacle other than cutting clips. Probably won't have time to do night view for a while. I may go ahead and order the inside chime and remote unlock module to play with when I get back home. And yeah, it might be a useful addition after all. Really nice using a single cat 6 cable/poe at the mounting location and the doorbell phone app was pretty responsive and was much clearer video as well.

I keep hoping that someone else on the forum is trying one and shares what they find---may help us a lot.
 

vandyman

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 24, 2018
Messages
442
Reaction score
1,133
Location
US

SecuritySeeker

Pulling my weight
Joined
Oct 5, 2018
Messages
267
Reaction score
154
Location
Netherlands
Okay, I received my doorbell cam on this passed Saturday. I only tried the cam with the android app. When I get some time after work this week I will look at mounting the unit and adding it to BI.
That's great. You don't mention image quality so I'm guessing it wasn't out of focus like Cinnman's originally?
 

Cinnman

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
33
Reaction score
32
Location
SC
If anyone is still interested, here is another capture from the Yoosee doorbell. I've got it set up temporary to play with some more. One other thing of interest is that for some reason it was dropping the stream on Bi. Got a recommendation to try to uncheck the box for send RSTP keep alives and it has been working much better.

Yoosee test at door

If I get a chance, I'll try to cap some night time this evening.
 

SecuritySeeker

Pulling my weight
Joined
Oct 5, 2018
Messages
267
Reaction score
154
Location
Netherlands
If anyone is still interested, here is another capture from the Yoosee doorbell.
Thanks. Some compression artefacts but not bad imho.

If I get a chance, I'll try to cap some night time this evening.
That will be interesting. I kinda expect it to perform much worse, even if the manufacturer of the sensor inside this product claims 'excellent low light sensitivity' but I'm hoping to be pleasantly surprised. In my case there will be a porch light just above and to the side of it so it might work fine in my situation, at least for seeing who's at the door at night.
 

vandyman

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 24, 2018
Messages
442
Reaction score
1,133
Location
US
I have mounted the doorbell cam and ran a new cat6 cable to it.

I can not get the cam to work via BI for some odd reason, I have tried all week with different settings. {maybe I need do un bind the cam from the app}

Anyway the image is so so, it looks good for the first 20ft. After 20ft it gets a little out of focus.
 

Cinnman

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 23, 2019
Messages
33
Reaction score
32
Location
SC
Sounds like my original problem with being out of focus optically---SecuritySeeker pointed me in right direction and made a tremendous difference. The only way I could get to work with BI was very specific settings in my earlier post. Add camera, put in camera's ip, user=admin and password=the RTSP password that you set in the phone app, press find and let Bi search. It finds generic onvif camera---then put onvif1 in the path and save.
 

vandyman

Getting comfortable
Joined
Jul 24, 2018
Messages
442
Reaction score
1,133
Location
US
Sounds like my original problem with being out of focus optically---SecuritySeeker pointed me in right direction and made a tremendous difference. The only way I could get to work with BI was very specific settings in my earlier post. Add camera, put in camera's ip, user=admin and password=the RTSP password that you set in the phone app, press find and let Bi search. It finds generic onvif camera---then put onvif1 in the path and save.
Did you leave the port set to 8899 or change it to 5000?
 
Top