Dahua Starlight Varifocal Turret (IPC-HDW5231R-Z)

hmjgriffon

Known around here
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
3,383
Reaction score
974
Location
North Florida
Tested with short cables from camera to poe to switch and from switch to laptop. No luck. I have two of the same cameras and neither seems to power up. Is there any light that should come on? The fact that there is no network activity on the switch port makes me think the camera is definitely not on.
Run a cable from camera to Poe injector, cable from injector to computer, set static IP on computer, also reset the camera Incase settings were changed to test it before it went out.
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,379
Reaction score
10,329
Tested with short cables from camera to poe to switch and from switch to laptop. No luck. I have two of the same cameras and neither seems to power up. Is there any light that should come on? The fact that there is no network activity on the switch port makes me think the camera is definitely not on.
Are these store bought premade cables?
 

fenderman

Staff member
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
31,379
Reaction score
10,329
would I need to use a crossover cable if I go directly from the camera to the laptop?
No, never use crossover cables...they are no longer necessary..have you tested your injector to confirm its working?
 

hotwire

Young grasshopper
Joined
Aug 2, 2015
Messages
42
Reaction score
13
Location
PNW
Hey so couple of questions...
1) How do I disable uPnP discovery of this cam? I don't want it appearing in network places on my PCs. I've disabled uPnP in the gui but that relates to port forwarding.
2) Why is it constantly trying to talk to Amazon AWS when I've turned off all the p2p cloud, ezviz sort of stuff? I even have an in-house NTP server. I have a firewall rule to block any internet access and got bored and went and had a look at the logs and was surprised to see it trying... Like seriously WTF.
You could try this.
Disabling P2P/Easy4Ip and Watchnet/Lechange Pro
Let us know how it goes. I don't know if it will completely stop the camera from trying to phone home.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Chase

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 12, 2017
Messages
140
Reaction score
27
Location
Ohio
phew ... I just read thru 67 pages on this thread.

Everyone seems to be raving about this camera and now this has me intrigued. I am in the process of running cat5e cables to camera locations for a new install at my house. I thought I was all set to buy a Hikvision NVR with Hik bullet cams and domes but now everyone here has me rethinking this.

My only concerns is that these cams have zero warranty on them. If they go bad in 6 months or so I'm out several hundred dollars. The $170 price point is very nice though. Has anyone had ANY problems with these? I didn't see anyone post problems in this thread but maybe someone just hasn't said anything yet.
 

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
9,346
Reaction score
5,253
Location
Denver, CO
Dahua is extremely reliable brand, reports of any dahua failure on these forums is extremely rare.. and when they do they are usually self inflicted, ie, not properly waterproofing the connections, or screwing up a firmware update.. but bricking from firmware update is much less frequent of an occurrence than Hikvision or anyone else.. they do try to prevent you from bricking it, but shit still can happen.

If you were to buy these cameras from a US Distributer offering a warranty, you'd be paying so much more you could proabibly import a spare camera from China to use as backup and still end up spending less money.

I'm fully confident we wont have another MiniHuisun or Longse fiasco with these cameras, Dahua makes cameras for FLIR/Lorex, Swann, AmCrest, GeoVision and many others.. and they dont just make cheap shit, a Dahua employee was just showing off a $90k Thermal/Visible Combo PTZ here earlier this week... Check out this post: SD6AL230F-HNI laser light performance
 
Last edited:

tangent

IPCT Contributor
Joined
May 12, 2016
Messages
3,860
Reaction score
2,533
Just received my hdw5231r-z and am having trouble powering it up. I have connected it to a WS-POE-8-48v60w passive poe injector. I do not see any indication that the camera is powered up and there is no indication of activity on the switch.
It won't work with a passive PoE adapter. It requires real 802.3af PoE.
 

hmjgriffon

Known around here
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
3,383
Reaction score
974
Location
North Florida
phew ... I just read thru 67 pages on this thread.

Everyone seems to be raving about this camera and now this has me intrigued. I am in the process of running cat5e cables to camera locations for a new install at my house. I thought I was all set to buy a Hikvision NVR with Hik bullet cams and domes but now everyone here has me rethinking this.

My only concerns is that these cams have zero warranty on them. If they go bad in 6 months or so I'm out several hundred dollars. The $170 price point is very nice though. Has anyone had ANY problems with these? I didn't see anyone post problems in this thread but maybe someone just hasn't said anything yet.
If ya can't take the heat, git outta the kitchen
 

wantafastz28

Getting comfortable
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
536
Reaction score
250
Location
Phoenix, az
phew ... I just read thru 67 pages on this thread.

Everyone seems to be raving about this camera and now this has me intrigued. I am in the process of running cat5e cables to camera locations for a new install at my house. I thought I was all set to buy a Hikvision NVR with Hik bullet cams and domes but now everyone here has me rethinking this.

My only concerns is that these cams have zero warranty on them. If they go bad in 6 months or so I'm out several hundred dollars. The $170 price point is very nice though. Has anyone had ANY problems with these? I didn't see anyone post problems in this thread but maybe someone just hasn't said anything yet.
If you buy from Andy, he stands behind his product...

The only issue I've had with 2 of the 5 I've bought, is the weather plug for ethernet was the wrong size and wouldn't fit (too small)... it's such an easy work around and if that's the only problem I'm still making out vs other options.
 

tangent

IPCT Contributor
Joined
May 12, 2016
Messages
3,860
Reaction score
2,533
I have that exact injector and it runs my starlight turret and ultra starlight bullet just fine, it's been running all of my Poe cams for a while.
I should have looked at the specific injector, this one works because it uses 48v unlike some of the passive injectors that use lower voltage. It's still a little less desirable than an 'active' poe injector or switch.

@krawaterway take it down and try powering it from a 12v supply to the barel jack instead of poe for testing.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2017
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Works with the 12v supply to the barrel jack. Any suggestions on a poe switch that can handle 5 of these bad boys?
 
Top