Dahua IP intercom: VTO3211D-P2 (new P & P4 ) door station - experience, review, firmware support?

Discussion in 'Dahua' started by int, Mar 4, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. JCFR

    JCFR n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    France
    Hello, i've got this hardware for a week. I'm trying to get all working before modifying my old installation but I can't everything working as I would like.
    The VTO3211D-P2 is Poe linked. It's firmware is 3.200.9999 (2018-04-21). I don' t have any VTH.

    Main problem with gdmms plus : not able to set a default device in the preview live. Need to select it each time --> very boring !
    gdmms plus : alert subscribed but nothing occurs when testing the call button on the VTO3211 --> no Android notification

    Web UI :
    ftp is set but don't get any file. Not able to test as there is no test function or log file. On the ftp server side, never seen any incoming connection from the VTO
    When I try to connect using the ssh. I've got "access denied". Does it use a different account than the UI web admin ?

    VTH :
    Does this model works with the VTO3211 : VTH5221D ?
    Does the VTH5221D has a french UI ?

    I know, these are many questions... Hope some people would have some answers.
    :rolleyes:
     
  2. johz

    johz n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    I have a few...

    Others have said that you will need a VTH to get push notifications from the VTO3211. Not checked it myself because I have a VTH5221D connected (which indeed works with the VTO3211). I can get push notifications in idmms plus but only if I use the P2P connection. Have not yet succeeded in setting this up for the IP/Domain connection, so without using Dahua's servers (the live view is there, alarm notifications are set but it does not push).

    The latest firmware for the VTH5221D has several languages, including French.

    John
     
  3. JCFR

    JCFR n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    France
    Thanks a lot John.
    Where did you buy your VTH5221D ? Netherlands or China ?
    If this is true that a VTH is mandatory to get pushed notifications on any Android device, this is quiet disappointing.
     
  4. johz

    johz n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    See @Steff at #117 in this thread regarding the need of a VTH.

    But have you checked with P2P? You have a newer firmware than I do...

    I bought the VTO from @EMPIRETECANDY and the VTH at a Dutch webshop

    John
     
  5. JCFR

    JCFR n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    France
    Ok, i saw the Steff's post. He said "not sure at 100%" :(

    Yes, I test mine also with P2P option. It works with the video and audio but not with the notifications. Very strange as the VTO by itself is able to push data to the Android app, why not with the notifications ??? A feature to force their customer to buy a FTH. :embarrassed:

    John, please, could you tell me the VTH5221D firmware version number you have ? I saw some vendors claiming their product doesn't have some europeans languages (like french).
     
  6. johz

    johz n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    See attached:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 2, 2018
    int likes this.
  7. JCFR

    JCFR n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    France
    Thank you very much John. i will take care about the firmware revision if i decide to order a VTH to a China reseller.
     
  8. riogrande75

    riogrande75 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    20
    Just found a FW called
    [​IMG] General_VTO3211D_Eng_P_32M_V1.000.001200.0.R.20180509.zip
    Sounds very promising, right?
     
  9. JCFR

    JCFR n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    France
    Is there any release note into the zip ? Where did you find it ?
     
  10. riogrande75

    riogrande75 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    20
    Unfortunately nothing, as usual. But I expect some bugfixes, maybe also a few new features. Lacking a device, I cannot check it out.
    It's onshare.dahuasecurity.com
     
  11. JCFR

    JCFR n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    France
    Are you sure for this url ? Cannot connect using http://
     
  12. riogrande75

    riogrande75 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    20
  13. Kemar

    Kemar n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    France
    Hi there, i'm a new owner of a VTO3211D-P2, version 2018-04-21 V3.200.9999000.0.R and i have some answers.

    @JCFR i can reply to some questions :

    --> Same problem for me ! It is very annoing.


    No problem for me with notifications, and i don't have a VTH. Did you check your network configuration ? Is your gateway OK ? Check the "P2P" settings too in "System config --> Network config --> P2P tab". Status must be "online".

    Same problem with FTP on my Qnap NAS. It worked ONE time, but the jpg file is unreadable...

    The SSH password is "7ujMko0 + your password". If you use "password" as a pass, then ssh password is "7ujMko0password". But don't expect much from this little dsh shell...

    I'll try the newer firmware this night, hope it's better. I want to use this VTO with Jeedom, i need a "ring" API call. It would be great if the device was capable of a webhook when someone press the "ring" button.

    I think it's better to post here to help everyone, but if you want to speak French, just PM me !
     
    int likes this.
  14. johz

    johz n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    I do not think that that firmware is newer. Although it has a newer date stamp it is V1.000 and yours is V3.200 (and probably multi language)

    John
     
  15. Kemar

    Kemar n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    France
    You are right John, after searching, i can't find a newer firmware than V3.200... but, i found this file :

    General_VTO3221D_Eng_P_32M_SIP_V3.200.0012001.0.R.20180330.bin

    I tried unsuccessfully, still in V3.200.9999000 and no SIP Tab.
     
  16. riogrande75

    riogrande75 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    20
    As far as I understand, VTO3221D ist a complete different device. So the firmware will not fit the VTO3211D.
     
  17. Kemar

    Kemar n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    France
    Ho !! I was realy tired !!! I read 3211 instead of 3221 !!!! I agree, it won't work ! So my last chance is to export an image on FTP when someone ring, and watch this FTP with a script. I'll try something like that.
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2018
  18. Kemar

    Kemar n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    France
    Still no luck with my VTO3211 and FTP server. I have tried on my Qnap NAS, on my computer with "samllftpd server"... nothing.

    So i decided to try the SD card method. Th port isn't accessible from outside, you have to open the VTO by removing the 6 screws at the back. Then you'll see a SD card slot. There is also 4 pins that probably are UART... humm maybe i'll give it a try.
     
  19. Kemar

    Kemar n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    France
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2018
    johz likes this.
  20. Knucklejoint

    Knucklejoint n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    turkey
    I am using a VTO3211 with 2x VTH1550CH. Basic funtions works but P2P is not working at all. Is there anybody who managed to make it work? I will attached snap shoot from my setup screen. On the picture, I set the "Enable" check box, but below it says "Status : Offline". I refrehed and booted many times, no satisfaction. Am I doing something wrong?
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Kemar

    Kemar n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    France
    @Knucklejoint, it's working for me but i don' have a VTH.
    2018-07-14 12_05_30-Window.png

    Some news of the UART. The pins are NOT those located under the Ethernet and "control" connectors. The UART connector is on at the left of the main chip. I decided to solder on the other side, it's easier.
    IMG_6614.JPG

    The PIN order is from up to bottom : RX, TX, GND, VCC
    IMG_6613.JPG

    Then you'll be able to see the boot, and interrupt it by pressing a key ( * is often used). Remember to keep it pressed BEFORE and WHILE connecting power.
    2018-07-19 00_25_07-Window.png


    Now that i'm in, i need to find something to do with it :p

    Ha ha ! Funny thing ! It's a VTO3211D-P2

    Code:
    > printenv
    ...
    HWID=VTO3221D
    ...
    
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2018
    Knucklejoint and int like this.
  22. Knucklejoint

    Knucklejoint n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    turkey
    Thank you Kemar,
    I have not tried yet. I will do it on weekend.
    I have seen a button near SD-card. What is it for?
    Is SD-card works?
     
  23. Kemar

    Kemar n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    France
    I don't know what this button do. Pressing it don't change anything for me (but i just tried once).

    The SD Card slot isn't working for me. Maybe we need to modify the firmware to enable it.
     
  24. Knucklejoint

    Knucklejoint n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    turkey
    How did you configure serial port (baud rate, data bits, stop bits, etc)? Is there any other things to set on Putty?
     
  25. Knucklejoint

    Knucklejoint n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    turkey
    I figure out serial port configuration:)
     
  26. Knucklejoint

    Knucklejoint n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    turkey
    I can see boot but what should I do for next step. There are "fail to load bootargsParameters.txt" errors. I attached snap shot of my boot.
     

    Attached Files:

  27. Kemar

    Kemar n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    France
    If you can see "booting the kernel", it's that your camera has boot, and you can access the web interface. If you want to use the bootloader commands, you have to interrupt the boot by pressing "*" key before turning power on and stay pressing it until you see the same thing than my last sreenshot.

    I don't know what that "fail to load" errors are, i'm just trying to understand how it works, sorry.
     
  28. Knucklejoint

    Knucklejoint n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    turkey
    Thank you Kemar. I have contacted Aliexpress' seller, they said they will help. I will let you know the result:)
     
  29. Crazykiller

    Crazykiller Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    297
    Location:
    Germany
    It‘s the reset button. Holding for about 10-15 seconds will reboot your VTO and reset it to defaults.
     
    int likes this.
  30. Knucklejoint

    Knucklejoint n3wb

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    turkey